

## City of Ann Arbor

301 E. Huron St. Ann Arbor, MI 48104 http://a2gov.legistar. com/Calendar.aspx

## Legislation Text

File #: 14-1771, Version: 1

Resolution to Approve the Collective Bargaining Agreement with the Deputy Chiefs, Teamsters Local 214, effective January 1, 2015 - December 31, 2016

Human Resources Services recommends approval of the new Collective Bargaining Agreement between the City of Ann Arbor and Deputy Chiefs.

Highlights of the negotiated agreement include:

- 1) Two (2) year contract
- 2) 2.75% increase in wages each year of contract
- Adoption of revised new hire retirement plan commencing if and when it is adopted for nonunion employees

Budget/Fiscal Impact - The recommended changes to the agreements are within the FY2015 adopted budget and consistent with FY2016/FY2017 projections that were recently shared with Council.

Prepared by: Evelyn Algarin-Jackson, Human Resources Safety Services Partner. Reviewed by: Robyn Wilkerson, Director of Human Resources and Labor Relations

Approved by: Steven D. Powers, City Administrator

Whereas, the current collective bargaining agreement between the Deputy Chiefs, Teamsters Local 214 and the City will expire on December 31, 2014;

Whereas, the parties have reached a settlement which includes a two (2) year contract, 2.75% wage increase for each year of the contract and adoption of revised new hire retirement plan commencing if and when it is adopted for nonunion employees; and

Whereas, The City Administrator recommends approval of the negotiated agreement.

RESOLVED, that the City Council approve the settlement agreement which includes two (2) year contract, a 2.75% wage increase for each year of the contract, and adoption of revised new hire retirement plan commencing if and when it is adopted for nonunion employees; and

RESOLVED, That the Mayor and City Clerk are authorized and directed to execute the Collective Bargaining Agreement effective January 1, 2015 to December 31, 2016 on behalf of the City, after approval as to substance by the City Administrator and approval as to form by the City Attorney.

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Kunselman, Warpehoski, Grand, Lumm and Mayor Taylor