

Legislation Text

File #: 14-1756, Version: 1

Resolution to Appoint Fire Chief

The attached resolution provides for the appointment of Larry L. Collins as the Ann Arbor Fire Chief effective January 5, 2015.

A national search developed candidates for the position of Fire Chief and a selection process involving the City Administrator, Fire Department personnel, and Service Area Administrators.

Larry L. Collins served as Fire Chief for the Brevard County Fire-Rescue in Brevard County, Florida.

Prior to his appointment as Fire Chief of Brevard County, Mr. Collins progressed through the ranks in Dayton, Ohio fire department serving as firefighter/paramedic, Lieutenant, Captain, Assistant Fire Chief and Director/Fire Chief.

Mr. Collins holds an Associates of Science Degree in Fire-Rescue Administration, a Bachelor of Science Degree in Public Safety Management from Franklin University in Columbus, Ohio and a Master of Science Degree in Operations Management from the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, Arkansas.

Larry L. Collins is qualified to serve and is recommended to Council for appointment as Ann Arbor Fire Chief. Reviewed and Approved by: Steven D. Powers, City Administrator Whereas, Larry Collins was selected from a national search for the position of Fire Chief;

Whereas, Mr. Collins holds an Associates of Science Degree in Fire-Rescue Administration, a Bachelor of Science Degree in Public Safety Management from Franklin University in Columbus, Ohio and a Master of Science Degree in Operations Management from the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, Arkansas;

Whereas, Section 12:1(b) of the Ann Arbor City Charter provides that the Fire Chief shall be appointed by the City Council on recommendation of the City Administrator; and

Whereas, Larry L. Collins is qualified to serve and is recommended to Council for appointment as Ann Arbor's Fire Chief;

RESOLVED, That City Council does hereby appoint Larry L. Collins as City of Ann Arbor Fire Chief, effective January 1, 2015.

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Briere, Krapohl, Warpehoski, and Taylor