

City of Ann Arbor

301 E. Huron St. Ann Arbor, MI 48104 http://a2gov.legistar. com/Calendar.aspx

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 24-0576 Version: 1 Name: Resolution to Appoint Janet Haynes, Rodrick Green

and Mohammad Othman to the Independent

Community Police Oversight Commission (7 Votes

Required)

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 5/6/2024 In control: City Council

 On agenda:
 5/20/2024
 Final action:
 5/20/2024

 Enactment date:
 5/20/2024
 Enactment #:
 R-24-169

Title: Resolution to Appoint Janet Haynes, Rodrick Green, Mohammad Othman and Nathaniel Graulich to

the Independent Community Police Oversight Commission (7 Votes Required)

Sponsors: Ayesha Ghazi Edwin, Cynthia Harrison, Linh Song

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
5/20/2024	1	City Council	Approved	Pass
5/6/2024	1	City Council	Referred	

Resolution to Appoint Janet Haynes, Rodrick Green, Mohammad Othman and Nathaniel Graulich to the Independent Community Police Oversight Commission (7 Votes Required)
Whereas, City Code Section 1:214(1) provides that members of the Independent Community Police Oversight Commission are appointed by one or more of the Council liaisons to the Human Rights Commission or liaisons to the Independent Community Police Oversight Commission with the approval of the City Council;

Whereas, Janet Haynes and Nathaniel Graulich are not registered electors of the City of Ann Arbor; and

Whereas, Section 12.2(b) of the City Charter states:

"Residency eligibility requirements for paid appointed officers shall be in accordance with State law. An unpaid appointive officer to a board or commission established pursuant to law, this charter, or ordinance shall be eligible for appointment if he/she is a registered elector of this City, unless this requirement is waived by a resolution concurred in by not less than seven members of the Council."

RESOLVED, That City Council waives the requirement of Section 12.2(b) of the City Charter and makes the following appointments:

Independent Community Police Oversight Commission

Janet Haynes-Reappointment Term Ending: May 31, 2027

File #: 24-0576, Version: 1

Rodrick Green-Reappointment Term Ending: May 31, 2027

Mohammad Othman-Reappointment

Term Ending: May 31, 2027

Nathaniel Graulich-Partial Term Term Ending: May 31, 2026

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Gahzi Edwin, Song, Harrison