The Chair declared the motion carried.

The resolution as adopted reads as follows:

RESOLUTION CREATING THE ANN ARBOR ENERGY COMMISSION

The City Council resolves that there is hereby created an Energy Commission which shall operate as follows:

- (1) The Commission shall have II members who shall be appointed by the Mayor with the approval of the City Council;
- (2) Commission members shall serve for three-year terms. However, the Mayor shall designate seven of the initial appointees for two- or one-year terms so that no more than four terms shall expire in any one year;
- (3) The Commission shall adopt its own bylaws and appoint its own officers;
- (4) The Commission shall:
 - (a) Address City policies regarding energy efficiency;
 - (b) Make periodic public reports and recommendations on means of improving municipal and community energy efficiency;
 - (c) Prepare, adopt, amend and transmit to City Council plans identifying municipal energy production and energy efficiency projects; and
 - (d) Prepare, adopt, amend and transmit to City Council plans on community-based energy production and energy efficiency projects;
- (5) The Commission shall keep its meetings and records open in accordance with the standards of the Freedom of Information Act and Open Meeting Act;
- (6) Commission members may be removed by the Council with or without cause; and

RESOLVED, that the Mayor's Energy Advisory Board be dissolved upon appointment of the representatives to the Energy Commission.

R-552-I-85 APPROVED AS AMENDED

RESOLUTION CREATING THE ANN ARBOR FNERGY COMMISSION

A resolution creating the Ann Arbor Energy Commission was considered.

Councilmember Preston moved that the resolution be adopted.

Council unanimously agreed to add the following clause to the resolution:

RESOLVED, THAT THE MAYOR'S ENERGY ADVISORY BOARD BE DISSOLVED UPON APPOINTMENT OF THE REPRESENTATIVES TO THE ENERGY COMMISSION.

The question being the resolution as amended, on roll call the vote was as follows:

Yeas, Councilmembers Peterson, Hunter, Blow, Deem, Epton, Middleton, Preston, Edgren, Mayor Pierce, 9.

Nays, Councilmembers Jernigan, Hahn, 2.