Ann Arbor logo
File #: 20-0193    Version: Name: 2/3/20 Resolution to Establish City Council Mobility Committee
Type: Resolution Status: Passed
File created: 2/3/2020 In control: City Council
On agenda: 2/18/2020 Final action: 2/18/2020
Enactment date: 2/18/2020 Enactment #: R-20-054
Title: Resolution to Establish City Council Mobility Committee
Sponsors: Kathy Griswold, Jack Eaton, Anne Bannister, Ali Ramlawi
Resolution to Establish City Council Mobility Committee
The primary purpose of the Council Mobility Committee (CMC) is to formalize and strengthen existing activities and relationships of Council and other entities external to Ann Arbor City government.

The Transportation Commission will continue, per its charter. The Council liaison to the Transportation Commission will serve on the CMC to foster improved communications.

The CMC will allow for a better understanding of the interrelationships and dependencies between mobility and the council goals of affordability, sustainability, equity, vision zero, etc.
Whereas, The Ann Arbor community values excellent mobility;

Whereas, Mobility management is defined as a strategic approach to designing and delivering transportation services that starts and ends with the customer. It begins with a community vision in which the entire transportation network - public transit, private operators, cycling and walking, micromobility, connected and autonomous vehicles, and others - works together with customers, planners, engineers and stakeholders to deliver the transportation options that best meet the community's needs;

Whereas, Mobility is interconnected with many other areas including zoning, planning, affordable housing, energy, parking, sustainability and development;

Whereas, The greater Ann Arbor area is a major hub for the research and deployment of connected and autonomy vehicles;

Whereas, Mobility technology is rapidly changing;

Whereas, Ann Arbor aspires to be a leader in mobility;

RESOLVED, That City Council will establish a Council Mobility Committee by March 2, 2020. The Committee shall consist of five Council members to be appointed by the Mayor consistent with the City Charter section 4.2(8);

RESOLVED, That the Council Mobility Committee will be advisory to the whole Council and the Committee will communicate with Council via proposed resolutions that Council shall consider;


Click here for full text