Ann Arbor logo
File #: 19-0807    Version: 1 Name: 5/6/19 Reapppoint Jonathan Overpeck to Environmental Commission
Type: Resolution Status: Passed
File created: 5/6/2019 In control: City Council
On agenda: 5/20/2019 Final action: 5/20/2019
Enactment date: 5/20/2019 Enactment #: R-19-226
Title: Resolution to Reapppoint Jonathan Overpeck to the Environmental Commission (7 Votes Required)
Sponsors: Chip Smith, Anne Bannister


Resolution to Reapppoint Jonathan Overpeck to the Environmental Commission (7 Votes Required)


Whereas, Ann Arbor City Code requires the City Councilmembers currently serving on the Environmental Commission to nominate eight members to the Commission;


Whereas, City Code requires City Council to appoint the nominated members to the Commission by resolution;


Whereas, Jonathan Overpeck was recently appointed to the City’s Environmental Commission to fill a vacancy and has expressed a willingness to serve a full term;


Whereas, Mr. Overpeck is well-qualified with over 40 years of experience in the environment and sustainability fields, including currently serving as Dean at the University of Michigan School for Environment and Sustainability;


Whereas, Mr. Overpeck has been nominated by Councilmembers Bannister and Smith;


Whereas, The appointee is not a registered elector of the City of Ann Arbor; and


Whereas, Section 12.2(b) of the City Charter states:


“Residency eligibility requirements for paid appointed officers shall be in accordance with State law. An unpaid appointive officer to a board or commission established pursuant to law, this charter, or ordinance shall be eligible for appointment if he/she is a registered elector of this City, unless this requirement is waived by a resolution concurred in by not less than seven members of the Council.”; and


RESOLVED, That City Council waives the requirement of Section 12.2(b) of the City Charter and makes the following reappointment:


Environmental Commission

Jonathan Overpeck

432 Riverview Drive

Ann Arbor, MI 48194

Term: June 1, 2019 - May 31, 2022


Sponsored by: Councilmembers Smith and Bannister