Ann Arbor logo
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
Body Name:
Type: Transportation Commission
Meeting location: Larcom City Hall, 301 E Huron St, Second floor, City Council Chambers

previous daynext daytoday

Select date
Title and navigation
Title and navigation
<<<October 2020><<
October 2020

Oct, 2020

Transportation Commission 7:00 PM     Export to iCalendar
This meeting will be broadcast live on CTN Cable Channel 16, ATT Channel 99, and online at To speak at public comment call: 206 337 9723 or 888 788 0099 and enter Meeting ID: 953 3956 4801.

Transportation Commission
Established on November 21, 2016 by ordinance, codified in Section 1:207, Chapter 8, Title I of the Ann Arbor City Code

Bylaws approved by Resolution R-17-243

To foster excellence in the planning, design, construction and maintenance of sustainable and resilient multi-modal transportation network for the City of Ann Arbor. The Commission will serve as an advisory body to the City Council and the City Administrator on transportation policy with a focus on accessibility, mobility, equity and safety for all citizens.

Length of Terms
Voting members shall be appointed to 3-year terms, which shall be staggered so that approximately 1/3 of the terms expire each year. Initial terms may be for less than 3 years so that the terms are staggered. The City Council member shall be appointed for a 1-year term in the same manner as for City Council committee appointments. Members appointed by other City boards and commissions shall continue to serve until they are no longer members of the appointing board or commission or until the appointing board or commission appoints a different member. The member appointed by the board of the Ann Arbor Area Transportation Authority shall continue to serve until the board appoints a different member.

Membership / Committee Composition
11 voting members who have an interest in the various forms and modes of transportation needs of the community. Members are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council unless otherwise stated.

11 Voting Members:

  • Six members from the public
  • One owner or operator of a transportation business operating in Ann Arbor
  • One member of the Planning Commission, appointed by the Planning Commission
  • One member of the Commission on Disability Issues, appointed by the Commission on Disability Issues
  • One member appointed by the board of the Ann Arbor Area Transportation Authority
  • One member of the Ann Arbor City Council
Nonvoting Members:
  • The City Administrator
  • The Chief of Police
  • The City Traffic Engineer
  • One member of the Systems Planning Staff
  • One member appointed by the Regional Transit Authority of Southeast Michigan
  • One member appointed by the University of Michigan
  • One member appointed by the Ann Arbor Public Schools

Meeting Times/Frequency
Third Wednesday of the month at 7pm.

Contact Info
Kayla Coleman, Systems Planning Analyst
City of Ann Arbor Systems Planning Unit