

Legislation Text

## File #: 09-0878, Version: 1

Resolution Appointing South Fourth and South Fifth Avenues Historic District Study Committee Whereas, On August 6, 2009, City Council established the South Fourth and South Fifth Avenues Historic District Study Committee to study the area encompassing properties that abut the east and west sides of South Fourth Avenue and South Fifth Avenue, bounded by the East William Historic District on the north, and Packard Street on the south, and also including 209, 215, and 219 Packard Street;

Whereas, The charge of this Study Committee shall be those duties set forth in Chapter 103, Sections 8:408 and 8:410 of Ann Arbor City Code;

Whereas, This Study Committee shall consist of seven members, consistent with Chapter 103, Section 8:408 of Ann Arbor City Code, to be appointed by the City Council;

Whereas, Per Chapter 103, Section 8:408(2) of the Ann Arbor City Code, the Study Committee shall contain a majority of persons who have a clearly demonstrated interest in or knowledge of historic preservation; and shall contain representation from 1 or more local historic preservation organizations; at least 1 member shall reside or work in the affected area; and additional members may include representation from registered neighborhood associations and merchants' groups in the affected area; and

Whereas, The term of this Study Committee be twelve months, and the Study Committee shall report its findings and recommendations to the City Council no later than September, 2010;

RESOLVED, That City Council appoint the following individuals to the South Fourth and Fifth Avenues Historic District Study Committee:

Ina Hanel-Gerdenich Susan Wineberg Sarah Shotwell Patrick McCauley Rebecca Lopez Kriss Tom Whitaker Kristi Gilbert; and

RESOLVED, That the term of office for the Study Committee members shall end when City Council takes final action on the Committee's recommendations.

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Higgins and Hohnke