

Legislation Text

File #: 22-0642, Version: 1

Resolution to Appoint Nonregistered Electors to Boards and Commissions (7 Votes Required) Whereas, the appointees are not registered electors of the City of Ann Arbor; and

Whereas, Section 12.2(b) of the City Charter states:

"Residency Eligibility requirements for paid appointed officers shall be in accordance with State law. An unpaid appointive officer to a board or commission established pursuant to law, this charter, or ordinance shall be eligible for appointment if he/she is a registered elector of this City, unless this requirement is waived by a resolution concurred in by not less than seven members of the Council."

RESOLVED, That the City Council waives the requirement of section 12.2(b) of the City Charter and makes the following appointments:

Ann Arbor Public Art Commission

Mary Thiefels-Partial Term Grass Lake, MI 49240 Term Ending: May 31, 2023

Sophie Grillet-Reappointment Ann Arbor, MI 48103 Term Ending: 6/1/2025

Cable Communications Commission

Thomas Wright-Reappointment Saline, MI 48176 Term Ending: 5/31/2027

Design Review Board

Geoffrey M. Perkins-Reappointment Ann Arbor, MI 48105 Term Ending: 5/31/2025

Recreation Advisory Commission

Laurence O'Connell-Reappointment Ann Arbor, MI 48103 Term Ending: 5/31/2025

Renter's Commission

Cozine Welch, Jr. -Reappointment Ypsilanti, MI 48197 Term Ending: 5/31/2024

Dandan Chen-Reappointment Ann Arbor, MI 48105 Term Ending: 5/31/2024