

## City of Ann Arbor

301 E. Huron St. Ann Arbor, MI 48104 http://a2gov.legistar. com/Calendar.aspx

## Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 20-0602 Version: 1 Name: 5/4/20 Resolution to Appoint Jude Walton and Lisa

Jackson to Independent Community Police

Oversight Commission

Type:ResolutionStatus:PassedFile created:5/4/2020In control:City CouncilOn agenda:5/18/2020Final action:5/18/2020Enactment date:5/18/2020Enactment #:R-20-174

Title: Resolution to Appoint Lisa Jackson & Jude Walton to the Independent Community Police Oversight

Commission (7 Votes Required)

**Sponsors:** Ali Ramlawi, Julie Grand, Jane Lumm, Elizabeth Nelson

Indexes:

Code sections:

## Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
5/18/2020	1	City Council	Approved	Pass
5/4/2020	1	City Council	Referred	

Resolution to Appoint Lisa Jackson & Jude Walton to the Independent Community Police Oversight Commission (7 Votes Required)

Whereas, City Code Section 1:214(1) provides that members of the Independent Community Police Oversight Commission are appointed by one or more of the Council liaisons to the Human Rights Commission or liaisons to the Independent Community Police Oversight Commission with the approval of the City Council;

Whereas, The appointees are not registered electors of the City of Ann Arbor; and

Whereas, Section 12.2(b) of the City Charter states:

"Residency eligibility requirements for paid appointed officers shall be in accordance with State law. An unpaid appointive officer to a board or commission established pursuant to law, this charter, or ordinance shall be eligible for appointment if he/she is a registered elector of this City, unless this requirement is waived by a resolution concurred in by not less than seven members of the Council."

RESOLVED, That City Council waives the requirement of Section 12.2(b) of the City Charter and makes the following appointments:

## **Independent Community Police Oversight Commission**

Lisa Jackson-Reappointment 4688 Pearl St. Pittsfield Twp., MI 48197 File #: 20-0602, Version: 1

Term: June 1, 2020-May 31, 2023

Jude Walton-Reappointment 208 Chapin St. Ann Arbor, MI 48103

Term: June 1, 2020-May 31, 2023

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Lumm, Ramlawi, Nelson and Grand