

City of Ann Arbor

301 E. Huron St. Ann Arbor, MI 48104 http://a2gov.legistar. com/Calendar.aspx

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 19-1037 Version: 1 Name: 5/20/19 Resolution to Confirm Appointments of the

ICPOC

Type:ResolutionStatus:PassedFile created:5/20/2019In control:City Council

 On agenda:
 5/20/2019
 Final action:
 5/20/2019

 Enactment date:
 5/20/2019
 Enactment #:
 R-19-236

Title: Resolution to Confirm Appointments to the Independent Community Police Oversight Commission of

Members Who Are Not Registered Electors of the City (7 Votes Required)

Sponsors: Zachary Ackerman, Jane Lumm, Ali Ramlawi, Julie Grand

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
5/20/2019	1	City Council	Approved	Pass

Resolution to Confirm Appointments to the Independent Community Police Oversight Commission of Members Who Are Not Registered Electors of the City (7 Votes Required)

Whereas, on March 18, 2019, City Council voted, with over 7 Council members concurring, to approve appointments to the Independent Community Police Oversight Commission (Council Resolution R-19-107);

Whereas, Resolution R-19-107 noted that 7 votes of Council were required to approve the resolution, which the Council sponsors intended to reflect the number of votes required to waive the requirements of Section 12.2(b) of the City Charter, which states:

"Residency eligibility requirements for paid appointed officers shall be in accordance with State law. An unpaid appointive officer to a board or commission established pursuant to law, this charter, or ordinance shall be eligible for appointment if he/she is a registered elector of this City, unless this requirement is waived by a resolution concurred in by not less than seven members of Council."

Whereas, Resolution R-19-107 stated the residency of the appointees, but did not specifically reference their status as registered electors of the City; and

Whereas, The Council sponsors of R-19-107 wish to clarify and confirm the previous appointments of persons who are not registered electors of the City;

RESOLVED, That City Council confirms and ratifies the appointments made in R-19-107 of the following persons identified as nonregistered electors of the City to the Independent Community Police Oversight Commission, waiving the requirement of Section 12.2(b) of the City Charter:

Expiring May 31, 2020 (1-year term):

File #: 19-1037, Version: 1

- 1) Zaynab Elkolaly*/**
- 2) Jude Walton*
- 3) Lisa Jackson*

Expiring May 31, 2021 (2-year term):

- 1) Frances Todoro-Hargreaves*
- 2) Mashod Evans*

Expiring May 31, 2022 (3-year term):

- 1) Bonnie Billups*
- 2) Robin Stephens*

Sponsored by: Council Members Grand, Ramlawi, Lumm and Ackerman

^{*}Nonregistered Elector of the City of Ann Arbor

^{**} Youth Member (1-year term)