

City of Ann Arbor

301 E. Huron St. Ann Arbor, MI 48104 http://a2gov.legistar. com/Calendar.aspx

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 20-1997 Version: 1 Name: 1/19/21 Resolution to Appoint Makiah Shipp to the

ICPOC

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

 File created:
 12/15/2020
 In control:
 City Council

 On agenda:
 1/19/2021
 Final action:
 1/19/2021

 Enactment date:
 1/19/2021
 Enactment #:
 R-21-025

Title: Resolution to Appoint Makiah Shipp to the Independent Community Police Oversight Commission

(One-Step Appointment - 8 Votes Required)

Sponsors: Ali Ramlawi, Travis Radina, Elizabeth Nelson, Linh Song

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
1/19/2021	1	City Council	Approved	Pass

Resolution to Appoint Makiah Shipp to the Independent Community Police Oversight Commission (One-Step Appointment - 8 Votes Required)

Whereas, City Code Section 1:214(1) provides that members of the Independent Community Police Oversight Commission are appointed by one or more of the Council liaisons to the Human Rights Commission or liaisons to the Independent Community Police Oversight Commission with the approval of the City Council;

Whereas, The appointee is not a registered elector of the City of Ann Arbor; and

Whereas, Section 12.2(b) of the City Charter states:

"Residency eligibility requirements for paid appointed officers shall be in accordance with State law. An unpaid appointive officer to a board or commission established pursuant to law, this charter, or ordinance shall be eligible for appointment if he/she is a registered elector of this City, unless this requirement is waived by a resolution concurred in by not less than seven members of the Council."

RESOLVED, That City Council waives the requirement of Section 12.2(b) of the City Charter and makes the following appointment:

Independent Community Police Oversight Commission

Makiah Shipp - Partial Term Youth Member 9516 Philip St. Detroit MI, 48224

Term: Ending May 31, 2021

File #: 20-1997, Version: 1

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Ramlawi, Radina, Nelson and Song