RESOLUTION TO MAINTAIN ARGO DAM AS A FUTURE SOURCE OF CLEAN RENEWABLE ENERGY

Whereas, the Ann Arbor Energy Commission is charged with providing input on energy issues affecting the Ann Arbor community;

Whereas, the Ann Arbor community is currently considering whether to keep or remove Argo dam;

Whereas, City Council unanimously passed Green Energy Challenge goals of providing 30% of the municipal government's energy from renewable sources by 2010 and 20% of the community's energy from renewable sources by 2015;

Whereas, The Energy Commission believes it is critical to exhaust all options associated with utilizing Argo dam's capacity for renewable energy before irreversible, alternate plans are taken;

Whereas, anticipated new sources of Federal and other grant funding, increases in conventional electric prices, or implementation of a federal carbon tax or cap-and-trade system can individually or collectively significantly improve the economics of hydroelectric generation at Argo Dam while newer hydro-generation technologies may prove more efficient, less expensive and have reduced impacts on the river environment;

Whereas, with the current national, state and local emphasis towards a move to clean, renewable energy, it would be premature to remove a potential hydro-electric generation source without a careful, complete analysis of its long-term energy production potential;

Therefore Be It Resolved, That the Ann Arbor Energy Commission, based on energy considerations only, recommends that the City Council maintain Argo Dam as a future source of clean, renewable electricity generation; and

Be It Further Resolved, that the Ann Arbor Energy Commission recommends that the City Council direct staff to seek additional studies to examine new hydro-electric generation options and outside funding sources to support the reactivation of hydroelectric generation at Argo Dam. Such efforts may lead to an alternative proposal to City Council to sustain Argo dam and restore hydroelectric capacity.

A vote on the resolution showed:

AYES: Appleyard, Kurz, Wright, Bing, Hong, Delaney, Hookham, Wadland, Long, Miller.

NAYES: None. Absent: Hieftje The motion carried. September 8, 2009