ANN ARBOR DOWNTOWN DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, July 3, 2013

DDA Offices, 150 S. Fifth Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Place: DDA Office, 150 S. Fifth Avenue, Suite 301, Ann Arbor, 48104
Time: DDA Chair Ms. Leah Gunn called the meeting to order at 1:10 p.m.

1. ROLL CALL

Present: Newcombe Clark, Russ Collins, Robert Guenzel, Leah Gunn, Roger Hewitt, Joan

Lowenstein, Keith Orr, Sandi Smith, John Splitt

Absent: John Hieftje, John Mouat, Nader Nassif

Staff Susan Pollay, Executive Director
Present: Joseph Morehouse, Deputy Director

Amber Miller, Planning & Research Specialist Jada Hahlbrock, Management Assistant

Audience: Art Low, Republic Parking

Maggie Ladd, South University Area Association

John Kotarski, Public Art Commission Dave Askins, *Ann Arbor Chronicle* Andy Box, AA Fire Department Max Clayton, Ann Arbor Art Fair

Bob Miller, AA Parks Advisory Commission Eli Neiburger, Ann Arbor District Library

Alice Liberson, resident

Betsy Jackson

Ray Detter, Downtown Area Citizens Advisory Council

Andrew Cluley, 89.1 WEMU Ryan Stanton, *A2.com*

2. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

<u>Treasurer</u>: Ms. Gunn asked for nominations for the position of Treasurer. Mr. Hewitt was nominated by Mr. Splitt and seconded by Mr. Guenzel. There were no other nominations.

A vote on the motion to approve the nomination showed:

AYES: Clark, Collins, Guenzel, Gunn, Hewitt, Lowenstein, Orr, Smith, Split

NAYS: none

ABSENT: Hieftje, Mouat, Nassif

ABSTAIN: none The motion carried.

<u>Secretary:</u> Ms. Gunn asked for nominations for the position of Secretary. Mr. Orr was nominated by Ms. Smith and seconded by Mr. Guenzel. There were no other nominations.

A vote on the motion to approve the nomination showed:

AYES: Clark, Collins, Guenzel, Gunn, Hewitt, Lowenstein, Orr, Smith, Split

NAYS: none

ABSENT: Hieftje, Mouat, Nassif

ABSTAIN: none The motion carried.

<u>Vice-Chair</u>: Ms. Gunn asked for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair. Mr. Mouat was nominated by Ms. Smith and seconded by Mr. Guenzel. There were no other nominations.

A vote on the motion to approve the nomination showed:

AYES: Clark, Collins, Guenzel, Gunn, Hewitt, Lowenstein, Orr, Smith, Split

NAYS: none

ABSENT: Hieftje, Mouat, Nassif

ABSTAIN: none The motion carried.

<u>Chair</u>: Ms. Gunn asked for nominations for the position of Chair. Ms. Smith was nominated by Mr. Splitt and seconded by Mr. Guenzel. There were no other nominations.

A vote on the motion to approve the nomination showed:

AYES: Clark, Collins, Guenzel, Gunn, Hewitt, Lowenstein, Orr, Smith, Split

NAYS: none

ABSENT: Hieftje, Mouat, Nassif

ABSTAIN: none
The motion carried.

Ms. Gunn ceremonially passed the meeting gavel to Ms. Smith.

B. DDA COMMITTEES

Ms. Smith reviewed the members and chairs of the Operations Committee. Mr. Hewitt, Mr. Splitt & Mr. Orr will serve as committee chairs, the remainder of the DDA board members will serve on the committee.

Ms. Smith reviewed the members and chairs of the Partnerships/ Economic Development Committee. Ms. Smith and Ms. Lowenstein will serve as committee chairs, the remainder of the DDA board members will serve on the committee. City Council, Planning Commission, and AATA representatives will be finalized as appointments and elections occur.

The Executive Committee will consist of DDA officers and past previous DDA Chair.

4. STAFF THANK YOU TO THE BOARD AND OUTGOING DDA CHAIR

Ms. Pollay thanked the DDA board members for their hard work this year, and the amount of volunteer time they contributed in support of the downtown. Ms. Gunn was thanked for serving as DDA Chair this year, and staff said that a fairy door had been installed at the 4th & Washington Structure in her honor. All applauded in gratitude for Ms. Gunn's many years of service.

5. ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business, Ms. Gunn moved and Mr. Splitt seconded the motion to adjourn. Ms. Smith declared the meeting adjourned at 1:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Susan Pollay, Executive Director