## Resolution to Create Special Energy Commission Subcommittee on Climate Action

WHEREAS, in resolution R-11-142 on April 19, 2011, City Council updated Energy Challenge goals for municipal operations of reducing greenhouse gas emissions 50% from 2000 levels and using 30% renewable energy by 2015; and city-wide Energy Challenge goals of reducing greenhouse gas emissions 8% from 2000 levels and using 5% renewable energy by 2015; and

WHEREAS, in resolution R-330-7-07 on July 16, 2007, Ann Arbor City Council set ten environmental goals, including "Eliminate net greenhouse gas emissions and other destabilizing climate impacts,"; and

WHEREAS, the Michigan Department of Natural Resources and Environment (MDNRE) awarded the City of Ann Arbor a Climate Action Planning Grant to advance climate planning and reduce greenhouse gas emissions, which was accepted by City Council on September 7, 2010 in resolution R-10-326; and

WHEREAS, a major task of the MDNRE grant is to formalize a climate action plan based on existing resources and utilizing an advisory task force; and

WHEREAS, Energy Office staff, working with the Chair of the Energy Commission, developed a charge for this special task force subcommittee on climate action, including an expectation for a minimum of 6 meetings and an expected activity timeline going out until June of 2012; and

WHEREAS, Energy Office staff, working with the Chair of the Energy Commission, compiled a list of recommended core members for this task force, consisting of individuals active in a climate mitigation or adaptation area, as well as members from the Planning, Environmental and Energy Commissions, and the University of Michigan, and these individuals are attached to this resolution; and

WHEREAS, involvement in the task force is not exclusive to core task force members, and per all subcommittee activities, members of the Energy Commission can involve themselves with this subcommittee and its actions;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Energy Commission approves the creation of this Climate Action Task Force Subcommittee per Commission Bylaws, including core invitees.

## **Climate Action Subcommittee Core Member Invitees**

Mike Shriberg (U of M Graham, Energy Commission)

Terry Alexander (U of M Facilities/Planet Blue)

Wayne Appleyard (Energy Commission)

Charles Hookham (Energy Commission)

Valerie Strassberg (Environmental Commission)

John Koupal (Environmental Commission)

Bonnie Bona (Planning Commission)

Laura Rubin (GAC/Huron River Watershed Council)

Mike Garfield (GAC/Ecology Center)

Chris White (AATA)

Nancy Shore (getDowntown)

Richard Fleece (County Public Health)

Joseph Malcoun (DTE)