ANN ARBOR DOWNTOWN DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, July 6, 2011 DDA Offices, 150 S. Fifth Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Place:DDA Office, 150 S. Fifth Avenue, Suite 301, Ann Arbor, 48104Time:DDA Chair Joan Lowenstein called the meeting to order at 12:05 p.m.

1.	ROLL CALL
Present:	Gary Boren, Newcombe Clark, Russ Collins, Bob Guenzel, Leah Gunn, Roger Hewitt, John Hieftje, Joan Lowenstein, John Mouat, Keith Orr, John Splitt
Absent:	Sandi Smith
Staff Present:	Susan Pollay, Executive Director Joe Morehouse, Deputy Director Amber Miller, Planning & Research Specialist Julie Uden, Management Assistant
Audience:	Dave Askins, Ann Arbor Chronicle Adrian Iraola, PAC Jasprett Sawhney, Falcon Innovations Ted Williams, Falcon Innovations Ali Ramlawi, Jerusalem Garden Pushpinder Sethi, Earthen Jar Andrew Cluley, WEMU Mark Lyons, Republic Parking System Nancy Shore, getDowntown Ray Detter, Downtown Area CAC

2.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

<u>Chair</u>: Ms. Lowenstein asked for nominations from the floor for the position of Chair. Mr. Boren was nominated by Mr. Hewitt and seconded by Mr. Splitt. There were no other nominations.

A vote on the motion to approve the nomination showed:

AYES: Boren, Clark, Collins, Guenzel, Gunn, Hewitt, Hieftje, Lowenstein, Mouat, Orr, Splitt
NAYS: None
Absent: Smith
The motion carried.

<u>Vice-Chair</u>: Ms. Lowenstein asked for nominations from the floor for the position of Vice-Chair. Mr. Guenzel was nominated by Ms. Gunn and seconded by Mr. Hieftje. There were no other nominations.

A vote on the motion to approve the nomination showed:

AYES: Boren, Clark, Collins, Guenzel, Gunn, Hewitt, Hieftje, Lowenstein, Mouat, Orr, SplittNAYS: NoneAbsent: Smith

The motion carried.

<u>Secretary:</u> Ms. Lowenstein asked for nominations from the floor for the position of Secretary. Mr. Orr was nominated by Mr. Splitt and seconded by Ms. Gunn. There were no other nominations.

A vote on the motion to approve the nomination showed:

AYES: Boren, Clark, Collins, Guenzel, Gunn, Hewitt, Hieftje, Lowenstein, Mouat, Orr, Splitt
NAYS: None
Absent: Smith
The motion carried.

<u>Treasurer</u>: Ms. Lowenstein asked for nominations from the floor for the position of Treasurer. Mr. Hewitt was nominated by Mr. Splitt and seconded by Ms. Gunn. There were no other nominations.

A vote on the motion to approve the nomination showed:

AYES: Boren, Clark, Collins, Guenzel, Gunn, Hewitt, Hieftje, Lowenstein, Mouat, Orr, Splitt
NAYS: None
Absent: Smith
The motion carried.

3.

DDA COMMITTEES

Ms. Lowenstein suggested that the DDA consider merging DDA committees, both because project funds will be more limited this year and because many DDA members are unable to give four hours at a time to attend back-to-back committee meetings.

Mr. Splitt asked Mr. Mouat if the Transportation Committee could be folded into the Bricks and Money Committee, given that there is an overlapping interest in implementing TDM strategies. Mr. Mouat agreed, saying that the Transportation Committee has gotten things running and now was a good time to merge. **Mr. Hewitt moved and Mr. Mouat seconded the motion to merge the Bricks and Money committee with the Transportation committee.** Ms. Gunn suggested that a new name be found for the combined committee; Mr. Collins agreed, suggesting that this may come from inspiration as the "Bricks and Money" committee name did.

A vote on the motion to approve the committees merge showed: AYES: Boren, Clark, Collins, Guenzel, Gunn, Hewitt, Hieftje, Lowenstein, Mouat, Orr, Splitt

NAYS: None Absent: Smith

The motion carried.

Mr. Hieftje suggested that the Partnerships and Economic Development/Communication Committees be merged given overlapping work plans; Ms. Gunn stated her support for this. **Ms. Gunn moved the motion to merge Economic Development/Communication and Partnerships Committees together, seconded by Mr. Splitt.** Mr. Clark said that the intent in creating a Communication committee had been to recognize that communication was not getting done effectively, and an important goal had been to bring in communication professionals and give them a seat at the table so they could help with our efforts. Mr. Clark said that this was a new committee and hadn't had time to develop fully. He didn't want the DDA to lose sight of its communication goals if these committees were merged; the DDA could still work to bring in media and PR professionals to assist. Mr. Collins stated his agreement. Mr. Splitt said he also agreed with Mr. Clark's points, but noted that committee attendance had been lacking. Mr. Hieftje stated that it was not his intention to undercut DDA communication efforts, but rather to explore whether communications needed a free-standing committee. Ms. Lowenstein said that there had been very sparse attendance at the committee's meetings and it would be nice to bring everyone together. Mr. Guenzel said he also agreed, and that we do not want to lose communications but it could add to the DDA's Economic Development and Partnership work. Mr. Mouat asked Ms. Pollay what her thoughts were about merging these committees; Ms. Pollay said she agreed with merging the committees, but not losing attention on the need to improve DDA communications. Mr. Orr said that he would like to leave things as is for the time being to see if reducing the number of committees from four to three will help improve participation.

A vote on the motion to approve the merge showed:

AYES:Boren, Guenzel, Gunn, Hewitt, Hieftje, Lowenstein, Mouat, SplittNAYS:Clark, Collins, OrrAbsent:SmithThe motion carried.

Ms. Pollay said that the new committees will start meeting in September.

4.

STAFF THANK YOU TO THE BOARD AND OUTGOING DDA CHAIR

Ms. Pollay thanked the DDA board members for all their extraordinary hard work and accomplishments this past year along with the endless hours they put in. She thanked outgoing Chair Joan Lowenstein for making herself available to DDA staff and project team on an hour-by-hour basis as needed throughout the year.

5.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business, Mr. Hewitt moved and Mr. Mouat seconded the motion to adjourn. Mr. Boren declared the meeting adjourned at 1:54 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Susan Pollay, Executive Director