Ann Arbor logo
Type: Environmental Commission
Meeting location: City Hall, 301 E. Huron Street

previous daynext daytoday

Select date
Title and navigation
<<<April 2014>>>
April 2014

Apr, 2014

Person Name TitleStart DateEnd DateWeb SiteAppointed By
Termed-out: 6/20/2014
1/29/2014 6/20/2014    
Christopher L. Graham  11/21/2005 12/7/2015    
John German  7/3/2006 8/7/2014    
Kirk Westphal Planning Commission Rep2/17/2009 10/13/2013*    
Melissa Stults Park Advisory Commission Rep.12/27/2012 9/30/2015    
Mike Anglin Councilmember
Note: Mike Anglin served between December 2007 and November 2008. He was appointed again in December 2013.
12/3/2007 11/9/2014    
Patti Smith  12/4/2012 12/7/2015   John Hieftje
Rita Loch-Caruso  4/17/2006 8/5/2014    
Sabra Briere Councilmember12/5/2011 11/9/2014    
Valerie Strassberg  10/20/2008 10/18/2014    
How Established: Ordinance 7-00 approved April 3, 2000 (Chapter 8, Section 1:237); resolution appointing first commission adopted September 18, 2000. Purpose: To advise and make recommendations to the City Council and City Administrator on environmental policy, environmental issues and environmental implications of all City programs and proposals on the air, water, land and public health. Duties include holding public hearings on environmental issues and concerns, and publishing and presenting an annual report on the City's "State of the Environment." Special Qualifications for Appointment: Members should have an interest in protecting and enhancing the well-being of the environment and public health of the community. Length of Terms: 3 years, except for the 2 Councilmembers who are appointed for 1-year terms. The terms of office of the first Environmental Commission are as follows: 5 members for 1 year; 3 members for 2 years; 3 members for 3 years. Notice of Appointment: The City Clerk shall notify Council at least 30 days prior to the expiration date of the term of office of any person serving on the Commission. The City Council shall place on the table the name of all reappointments no later than 60 days after the expiration date of the term of office. Tenure of Office: No member shall be allowed to hold over for more than 60 days beyond the term of office whether or not a successor has been appointed, except that Council may extend the term for periods of 90 days upon the vote of at least 6 members of Council. Meeting Times and Frequency: 4th Thursday of each month at 7 p.m. in Council Chambers. Membership / Committee Composition: 13 members nominated and approved by the City Council for 3-year terms. Two members so appointed shall be members of the City Council. In making appointments of members of the Environmental Commission, the City Council shall appoint persons who, insofar as possible, have an interest in protecting and enhancing the well-being of the environment and public health of the community. The terms of office of the first Environmental Commission appointed hereunder shall be fixed by the City Council so that the terms of 5 members will be for 1 year, 3 members will be for 2 years, and 3 will be for 3 years. After the initial commission is formed, all members, except the City Councilmembers, thereafter will be appointed for 3 years. The City Councilmembers shall be appointed for a 1-year term. A City Councilmember shall cease to be a member of the Environmental Commission if she/he ceases to be a member of the City Council. To help coordinate an integrated environmental policy, 3 members of the Environmental Commission shall be appointed to the commission from the following city committees or commissions: Planning Commission, Parks Advisory Commission, or Energy Commission. Contact Info: Matthew Naud, Environmental Coordinator, 734-794-6430 ex 43712.